Announced December 2023

The Implementation Task Force was established to set priorities for moving forward with the recommendations of the Executive Faculty Task Force on Climate and Culture and to oversee their implementation.

The Implementation Task Force is committed to the challenging work ahead. While improving policies and procedures is a critical part of improving our climate and culture, we all play a role in building a more inclusive environment where everyone is welcome and valued and can thrive. We are grateful for your support as we move forward, as a community, in building a climate and culture that we can all be proud of.


The new Task Force includes representatives from the Executive Faculty and Human Resources, who have the training and authority to enact the recommendations.

Michael Avidan, MBBCh, Implementation Task force co-chair
Dr. Seymour and Rose T. Brown Professor and head of the Department of Anesthesiology

Linda Richards, AO, FAA, FAHMS, PhD, Implementation Task Force co-chair
Edison Professor of Neurobiology and head of the Department of Neuroscience

Renée Shellhaas, MD, MS, Implementation Task Force administrative director
David T. Blasingame Professor of Neurology and Associate Dean for Faculty Promotions & Career Development

Victoria Fraser, MD
Adolphus Busch Professor of Medicine and head of the Department of Medicine

Opeolu Adeoye, MD, MS
BJC HealthCare Distinguished Professor of Emergency Medicine head of the Department of Emergency Medicine

Craig Buchman, MD, FACS
Lindburg Professor and head of the Department of Otolaryngology—Head & Neck Surgery

Regis O’Keefe, MD, PhD
Fred C. Reynolds Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery and head of the Department of Orthopaedic Surgery

Sean Whelan, PhD
Marvin A. Brennecke Distinguished Professor of Molecular Microbiology and head of the Department of Molecular Microbiology

Janine Bijsterbosch, PhD
Assistant professor of Radiology

Leanne Stewart, PhD
Executive Director, Employee Relations
Human Resources

Caroline Arbanas
Assistant Vice Chancellor, Medical Campus Communications
WashU Medicine Marketing & Communications